Sick Day

It wouldn’t be winter without catching at least one cold, right? That’s what I’m telling myself anyways. My immune system is normally as fragile as whatever those Nature Valley granola bars are made out of. Add the slightest bit of pressure and the whole thing goes crumbling apart. (Seriously…They are so crumbly only half actually goes in my mouth and the other half ends up in my lap.) I was feeling pretty good about my health up until the holiday season rolled around. I was eating properly, Neti Pot-ing daily, and staying hydrated. That all went down hill while I was on vacation, however – Too many sweets, too many drinks. You get the picture.

photo 5

My view for the last 48 hours. What’s in the brown paper bag, you ask? That’s just where I throw my snotty tissues so I don’t have to get off the couch (and so my husband doesn’t have to step on them…Sorry honey.) The bag is full, by the way. Yuck, sorry for the info. And I also definitely slathered the vent of that humidifier with vapo rub to help me breathe better. I think it’s working? Oh well. It’s ok to be sick now and then. It’s given me a chance to catch up on some writing anyways.

photo 1

When I’m sick I like to brew a home-remedy tea that I’ve found really does make me feel better. It contains fresh ginger (which helps to soothe chills and fevers, as well as nausea), raw garlic (which is both antiviral and antibacterial and great for upper respiratory issues), fresh lemon juice (also antiviral and full of immune-boosting substances), and a little cayenne (which helps to break up mucus and congestion). The hot liquid will also help to relax and hydrate you.

photo 4

After brewing all of these ingredients together I strain the liquid into my favorite mug. The mug that you choose is important because this particular mug makes you happy, and you need happy right now.

photo 3

You may be turned off by the idea of drinking garlicky tea, but I can assure you it really isn’t that bad. In fact, I think it tastes great. Viewing it as more of a broth than a tea may help as well. Or if that still doesn’t do it for you, then plug your nose and drink up anyways; and know that you are doing your weak little body a favor.

Feel Better Tea

1 T grated fresh ginger
2-3 cloves garlic, smashed
2 lemon wedges
Dash of cayenne pepper
2 cups filtered water
*Plus 1 happy mug

Add the water, ginger, garlic, and cayenne to a pot and bring to a boil, then turn the heat down and simmer for about 5 minutes. Strain the liquid and pour into your favorite mug. Squeeze the lemon wedges into the tea and give it a stir. Now go snuggle with a warm blanket in the coziest spot in your house and sip your tea. Close your eyes, breathe in the steam, and know that it’s ok to have a sick day once in a while.

Leave a Reply

