Être heureux – To be happy

Many years ago, I started compiling a list of 100 things to be happy about. At the time it was more of a personal reflection on the blessings and good things in life. It was a reminder in dark places to look beyond the obstacle or hurt in front of me and to find happiness in sweet little everyday moments. As my list grew, so did my desire to share these happy thoughts with others. I began writing not only for myself but for my future children as well. It’s my hope that I can some day present my list to him/her on that inventible day when, if they are anything like their mom, their attempt to carry the weight of the world on their shoulders fails and life just seems too heavy. They can then take the reigns and begin adding their own happy thoughts until, someday, it becomes their turn to pass the list on to someone else.

I thought I would share a few things to be happy about on this stormy winter day:

#8: The gurgling sound that coffee makes when being poured into my favorite mug

#10: Hearing someone, somewhere in the distance, singing “Do you Hear the People Sing”

#31: Tagless T-shirts

#45: Having the ocean in my backyard and the mountains in my front

#82: Twinkle lights all year round

#86: Smiles from a stranger

#94: The fortitude of trees

Leave a Reply

