Time to say goodbye

Well, the time has come. It really breaks my heart to say this, but I must share this news now or I will never accept it as truth. My husband and I are embarking on a six week hiatus…from dairy. I know. *Gasp. How could I possibly deny myself the pleasure of a late night wedge of sharp cheddar or a poached egg smothered in hollandaise. Oh, hollandaise. I forgot about that one. This may be harder than I thought.

Yet it is all too true, I’m afraid. After hearing many a tale on the horrors of hormones in dairy and the negative physical reactions of some who are exposed to lactose of any sort, organic or not, we have decided that a full elimination diet is the only way to know for sure what dairy does to our bodies. We are hoping that this experiment will provide us with at least a little bit of insight into some of Gabe’s epidermal woes and my digestive curiosities. Once our six weeks are up, we will begin to integrate small amounts of organic/hormone-free dairy products back into our lives to see if we have any reactions. Until then, it is “auf wiedersehen” to one of my great food loves. I’ve written a short poem to commemorate this moment.

Goodbye Dairy

Goodbye butter
Goodbye cream
The gooey cheese that’s in between
Goodbye gouda
Goodbye chevre
Goodbye brie on rounds of bread
Goodbye curds
Goodbye whey
“You’ll feel so good!” is what they say

….We shall see…

2 thoughts on “Time to say goodbye

  1. I hope the elimination gives you some insight into those digestive woes–the sort of insight that exonerates sharp cheddar, perhaps. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

